Who Am I?

I recently told someone that I have no identity other than being a mom. I feel like I’m not Renee anymore, I’m only Mom. When people ask me what my hobbies are I literally just blank. I don’t have hobbies. I don’t have something special I love to do with my down time. Unless cleaning, dishes, and folding laundry count? (Not that I love doing any of those.)
So is this it? Is that my identity now? Mom? A friend of mine asked a similar question yesterday. She said “Do you think God has a purpose for your life outside of motherhood?”. I’ve thought about that question a lot since then. Is cooking, cleaning, laundry, nursemaid, etc all I am to do? Was that what I was designed for? It wasn’t until tonight while putting my sick child to bed that the Lord showed me an answer. My sick baby looked at me so miserable and sweet and said “thank you for taking care of me today”. That’s when it hit me. During His entire time on this earth Jesus was continually showing us by example that we are to serve others. That is my purpose here. To love Him and to show His love to others by being a servant. God has put me in the best possible position to do that. Motherhood. I get the privilage of showing these sweet babies what a blessing it is to serve others. Being a mom has taught me better than anything else could how to put others first. It has made me a better wife. It has made me a better friend. It has made me a better listener cause it has and is teaching me to stop focusing on myself. From now on when people ask me what my hobby is I will strive to always answer with “being a servant”. This is who I am. This is my purpose. To show others God’s love. What better way for me to do that than to serve others as Jesus did?

For we preach not ourselves, but Christ Jesus the Lord; and ourselves your servants for Jesus' sake.
2 Corinthians 4:5
Not with eyeservice, as menpleasers; but as the servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart;
Ephesians 6:6 

Leave a comment